Skip To Main Content

Veteran Flagler Palm Coast Coach Finalist for 2024 National Coach of the Year

Veteran Flagler Palm Coast Coach Finalist for 2024 National Coach of the Year

     Storied Flagler Palm Coast (FPC) High School Track and Field Head Coach David Halliday is among the finalists for the National High School Coach of the Year.

     The National High School Athletic Coaches Association announces the
advancement of FPC’s Halliday as a finalist for the 2024 National High School Athletic Coaches Association National Coach of the Year in Track and Field.

     The Palm Coast, Florida resident has been leading the track world at FPC for the past 20 years. During his tenure, Halliday has coached his teams to region championships in 2002, 2007, 2009, 2019 and 2023. His Bulldog Boys Track and Field teams also captured state crowns in 2007 and 2009. He previously won a state championship in Boys Track and Field at Lake City’s Columbia High School in 2002, as well.

     Eight finalists from across the nation will be honored during the National Coach of the Year Awards Banquet which will take place at the National High School Athletic Coaches Association’s national convention at the Bismarck Hotel and Convention Center in Bismarck, ND on the evening of June 26.

     The highlight of the banquet will be the naming of the NHSACA National Coach of the Year in nineteen recognized sports categories. Coach Halliday was nominated for this national honor by the Florida Athletic Coaches Association. This selection was based on longevity, service to high school athletics, honors, championship years and winning percentage. The nominees and finalists are evaluated by experts in the field of coaching using a sport-specific rubric to assign points in each category. The National High School Athletic Coaches Association is the oldest coaches association in the nation and is formed by coaches, for coaches, and has been recognizing national coaches of the year since 1978. 

     Halliday is a member of the Florida Athletic Coaches Association Hall of Fame.