Flagler Schools Wins Prestigious Technology Award

Flagler Schools Named 2019 ISTE Distinguished District
Posted on 06/07/2019

The International Society for Technology in Education (ISTE) has combed through an impressive set of nominations to select the organization’s 2019 award winners. We are thrilled to announce that Flagler Schools is among these winners, recognized as a 2019 ISTE Distinguished District. Flagler is the first district in Florida to receive this honor.

Each year this award recognizes districts that:

  • Demonstrate effectiveness and innovation in the use of educational technology.

  • Ensure equitable, accessible and appropriate learning opportunities for all students, aimed at improving outcomes and increasing engagement.

  • Exhibit a progressive mindset when it comes to challenges in education and embrace new ideas and act on them.

The winners will be officially recognized at ISTE 2019, the largest and most influential education/technology conference of the year where “bold educators activate change,” in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, June 23-26.

“For 40 years ISTE has been recognizing educators for their incredible impact. The 2019 award winners exemplify the way an individual or team can inspire us with new approaches and ideas that change the lives of students,” said ISTE CEO Richard Culatta. “Beyond congratulating them on their achievements, we look forward to highlighting their successes at the ISTE Conference in Philadelphia.”

Flagler Executive Director of Instructional and Operational Innovation, Ryan Deising responds to this honor stating, “This is truly a team effort. We receive tremendous support from our community, schools, teachers, parents, and district staff. When talking with other districts, it becomes obvious how unique our county is, and how much our students benefit because of the support we receive and hard work put in by our staff.”

Flagler Schools Superintendent James Tager adds, “This shows our community the value of their continued support of Flagler Schools. Funds raised through our half-penny sales tax go towards putting the most relevant technology in our student’s hands and in their classrooms.”

In addition to this award, we are also pleased to have our Coordinator of Innovation, Joey DiPuma being recognized as the Honorable Mention choice for the 2019 ISTE Outstanding Learning Space Designer Award. Each year, ISTE selects educators who design innovative spaces for student learning and contribute innovative ideas to this field.

Click here to see a full list of winners on the ISTE website.

Tech Team
Members of the Flagler Schools Instructional and Operational Innovation team, joined by Supt. James Tager

WES tech
Ms. Debbie Kryspin's STREAM classroom at Wadsworth Elementary School, combining technology with traditional learning methods

     BTMS Tech
A student at Buddy Taylor Middle Schools showing a member of the AdventHealth leadership team how students can virtually dissect frogs
FlaglerSchools.com © 2019 Flagler County Public Schools.